How to contribute software wise

Hello fellow reform users :wave:

I’ve been using linux for ~13 years but have been a consumer. Mostly ubuntu, raspberry pis, docker images, self-hosting, that sort of thing.

I’d like to be able to contribute to the development of the reform system image and reform scripts and help with debugging in general.

So far I’ve started by trying to build the reform images locally and understand what each shell script is doing in the mnt reform tools.

I see people building system images for the reform like gentoo and plan9 and genode and am curious how that works.

Are their any simple tasks / low priority asks the team could use help with? I’m happy to assist but I don’t know where to start. My experience level is pretty novice.

1 Like

Something I’ve wanted to use for awhile that may be a good starting point is the ability to use hardware keys and luks on my LS1028A.

I’m tired of having to enter two passwords each time I want to use my computer. I don’t have a smartphone and accessing a password manager adds another layer of friction to using my computer more easily.

I’m recently unemployed as a django/react developer and have a lot of free time now.

I guess I’ll start by trying to grok how the existing shell scripts work for setting up luks encryption. I’m not entirely sure why they work on CM4 and not LS1028A.

I think trying to answer that question may be a good starting point.

Basically if someone is able to nudge me in the right direction I’d be happy to contribute. I’m just not sure where to start. My range of knowledge is pretty small at this point.

Does @josch have anything in mind?

1 Like

Hi @megasquid