How to type home, end, insert, delete on the Reform keyboard?

Hey all,

I’m new to Reform and wondering if it’s possible to type certain keys on the keyboard, namely: HOME, END, INSERT, DELETE, and PrintScreen/SysRq (including the Alt+SysRq commands for Linux kernel)? Or how do I create new key combinations to emulate those keys? Thanks!

Welcome! There are two possibilities:

1. Use xkb to modify the keymap, see: https://community.mnt.re/t/compose-umlauts-on-us-keyboard/153/3\

2. Change the keycodes/matrix itself, which requires rebuilding and flashing the keyboard firmware (it’s pretty easy though): reform2-keyboard-fw/Keyboard.c · master · Reform / reform · GitLab

For 2, there is no code yet to allow for different layers yet, i.e. it’s not possible to send a different scancode when a modifier is pressed. So 1 is the cleaner method. I wish there was a good config tool for xkb, that would make it much easier.

1 Like

Will udev remap work?
eg. like I’ve remapped keys on my mouse:

$ grep -Ev '^(#|$)' /etc/udev/hwdb.d/604-g-remap.hwdb 
evdev:input:b0003v046Dp4085e0111*
 KEYBOARD_KEY_7001e=f7
 KEYBOARD_KEY_7001f=f8
 KEYBOARD_KEY_70020=f9

It will work with the keyboard, but it looks like it’s not possible to add new key combinations to enter missing keys using this method, or am I missing something?

Well, you have plenty of keys defined in /usr/include/linux/input-event-codes.h, any of those could be mapped. So yes, you cannot do combination, but you can generate any suitable keycode and handle it then by sway, mapping to a script (a hotkey effectively). Hotkeys won’t help when sway is not available of course (eg hangs or died).

1 Like

So, after following the XKB configuration rabbit hole for a while, I’ve ended up with the following settings:

xkb_keymap {
    xkb_keycodes { include "evdev+aliases(qwerty)" };

xkb_types {
        include "complete"
        virtual_modifiers Hyper;
        type "HYPER" {
            modifiers = Hyper;