Strength of the pinatex case

I had a thought about sewing some kind of straps and buckles to the sides of the case, in order to turn it into a frame bag for my bike. I’d never heard of pinatex prior to buying my Reform, and I’m not sure how resistant it’ll be to that kind of stress. I’d probably have 2 straps that are sewed from one side to the other, which would then be hung over the top tube. Is this a good idea, or should I just buy or make a bag for it?

This idea interested me, and I looked into it briefly.

(As an aside, I am a Computer Scientist with some experience with textiles, not a physicist, and the below calculations may be overly simplistic or outright wrong. More than willing to learn if others have wisdom to share! At the very least, the references provided should allow a more knowledgeable person to be much more accurate in their recommendation!)

According to this paper, piñatex has a tensile strength nearly 1/10th (4.5 N/mm²) that of cow leather (39.5 N/mm²), and a tear resistance 1/3rd (31 N/mm) that of cow leather (82.9 N/mm). According to the crowd supply page, the rough mass of an MNT Reform is 1.9 kg. On earth, 1 kg generally exerts ~9.8 N, meaning an MNT reform generally exerts roughly 18.62 N at any one time.

Two straps means four points of contact. Assuming 1 cm wide straps (10mm), You would therefore be spreading the force out across roughly 40mm of fabric. For simplicity, we can just consider that one strap will have a square attached area, or 10mm², for a total of 40mm² of tensile spread. In these conditions it would likely be fine, since each mm² of fabric would only be dealing with ~0.4655 N of force, or roughly 1/10th of the breaking point. Tear wise, we’d be looking at a similar amount of force, but the threshold is much higher: Sitting closer to 1/20th.