Old Mac OS on Reform with QEMU

Hi all,
I’ve been experimenting with emulating PowerPC on Reform with QEMU, trying out both Classic Mac OS (9.2) as well as Mac OS X (10.3 Panther) and wanted to share my findings. First off, the emaculation forum/wiki have been extremely helpful in some regards, so it’s a good jumping-off point for troubleshooting. There’s a lot of documentation out there but not much info for ARM-based Linux machines.

Performance is very slow in either OS 9 or OS X. I’ve played around with some of the optional commands that I thought would help out but I’m unsure they’re doing anything (see below for my recommended config). In OS X, Activity Monitor shows the virtual processor basically fully utilized, while on the host, I barely get 115% CPU utilization for the QEMU process. I don’t think there’s a way to allocate more CPU resources, but I could be wrong. The guest thinks it’s a 900 MHz PPC G4, but I’ve never used a G4 that felt this slow before!

Mac OS 9 does not respond well to the Reform trackball, and that makes using it a terrible experience. There’s some info in the emaculation forum about installing a usb-tablet extension, but that didn’t work for me and instead leaves the cursor immobile.

Networking is configured automatically! I was able to browse using frogfind, which strips away elements from sites and loads a text-only version friendly to retro computers/defunct browsers.

Neither guest OS has working sound, but there’s some effort on the part of the community to fix this with the qemu-screamer fork but I figured I should try whatever QEMU version was native to arm64 before trying this one that seems to be focused on x86 Windows and Mac.